Since

1978

Melissa's Missteak was opened by the Borden family in 1978, in the existing building which was then part of the Homestead Inn.

It quickly became the best steak house in Banff. Locals and visitors alike filled the dining room, feasting on the wide selection of top-of-the-line Alberta beef and signature salads

In 1990, the Bordens sold the restaurant to a group of longterm employees. A patio was constructed - and then opened in 1991. It continues to be a popular spot while away a warm summer afternoon or evening.

Still locally owned and operated, "Mel's" offers a quality dining experience and superior customer service. We are open for breakfast daily from 7:00am and serve breakfast items on the lunch menu until 4:00pm. Dinner service begins at 4:00pm and ends at 10pm with our upstairs sports bar open until 1am

History of the building

Melissa's is located next to Banff's Homestead Inn. The original Homestead Hotel was built by John Locke as a temperance house between 1913 and 1919, and sold in 1919 to local businessman David M. Soole. Soole subsequently built the Homestead Restaurant and Tavern as an addition to the Hotel in 1930 to meet demand from Banff's growing visitor numbers at the time. The prominent location of the hotel and restaurant was convenient to both motor travellers and rail passenger arriving in Banff. The restaurant is the only remaining portion of the original Homestead Hotel complex. The rustic log interior and stucco Tudor exterior remain true to the original design. The building remains a significant local landmark.

Now renamed Melissa’s Restaurant and Bar, it is still locally owned and operated, and continues to offer quality dining with a wide-ranging selection of items that are sure to appeal to all budgets and tastes. With room to seat 150 people Melissa’s can easily accommodate group and special events.